Don’t let tardies add up!
Be at school on time.
School begins at 7:30 am.
Daily school attendance is very important. Please remember to bring a not for any school absence.
Attendance & Truancy FAQ’s
Attendance is an important part of a student’s education. Each day learning is built on previous activities and knowledge. Absences and/or tardies result in a disruption of the student’s mastery of instruction.
What does the law say?
Texas requires a child who is at least 6 years of age, or who is younger than 6 and has previously been enrolled in school, and who has not yet reached their 18th birthday to attend school unless exempt by law.
Under Texas Education Code, a student is in violation of the Compulsory Attendance Law if the student is absent 3 days or parts of days in a four week period or 10 days or parts of days in a six month period. Tardiness is considered part of the school day.
Why did I receive an attendance letter?
Letters are sent to parents once a student has reached 3 unexcused absences. The letter serves as a reminder of the state law and that truancy charges could be filed. If you receive a letter, you should call the school office to clear up any unexcused absences.